Anyone who has ever been in a car accident knows how unpleasant it is, especially if the other driver is uninsured. This might turn into a nightmare when trying to recover compensation for your damages, especially if the uninsured motorist was to blame for the collision.
A knowledgeable car accident lawyer Salem OR will review the pertinent information about your case carefully to determine what action to take. Your lawyer can also assist you in dealing with your insurance provider if they resist having to cover the entire cost of your losses.
Here, we’d like to go over the several paths that people in Oregon can pursue to obtain compensation after being hit by an uninsured driver.
Utilising Your Uninsured Motorist Protection
Several states in the country do not require drivers to purchase uninsured motorist coverage. For instance, let’s say someone in Oregon wants to drive a car legally. Those drivers must carry bodily injury coverage of at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident from an uninsured motorist.
The fact that Oregon mandates all drivers to carry this sort of insurance is undoubtedly advantageous. There is a possibility that uninsured motorist coverage could help a person in the event that they were injured in an accident caused by an uninsured driver or if a hit-and-run motorist caused the accident.
Anyone hurt in such a situation ought to notify their insurance provider of the accident and start the claims process. Be aware, however, that having uninsured motorist coverage through your own insurance provider will not guarantee you will be able to get the funds you need.
Insurance companies, whether you are your insurance company or another driver’s insurance company, will strive to avoid making a payment. For your own insurance company to fully compensate you for your damages, you must provide accurate documentation of the accident and your injuries.
Additionally, we advise all motorists to consider acquiring higher bodily injury liability limits for uninsured motorists than the law mandates.
Your expenses will probably exceed these minimums if you suffer a severe injury and only have the required $25,000 in uninsured motorist coverage for each person. It won’t take long to reach this $25,000 total after a single night spent in the emergency room and a few nights spent being admitted to the hospital.